Navigate / search

Lord Mayor Edward Fitzgerald – The First Elected Lord Mayor

The First Elected Lord Mayor: Edward Fitzgerald (1901-1903) Edward Fitzgerald became the first elected Lord Mayor of Cork on 23 Jan 1901 when he was elected by 28 votes to 24 for Eugene Crean. Born in 1846, Fitzgerald entered public life in the 1870’s. He married Johanna O’Donoghue in January 1872 with whom he had 8 children. Soon after his election, he proposed that an exhibition be held in the city. On 1 May 1902, the Cork International Exhibition was formally opened Read more [...]

Lord Mayor Daniel J. Hegarty – First Lord Mayor

Daniel J.Hegarty, the first Lord Mayor of Cork Although there has been a Mayor of Cork since at least the 13th century, the first entitled the Lord Mayor of Cork was Daniel J. Hegarty in 1900. He was born on 6 January 1849, and was the son of a merchant from Summerhill, and he married a Margaret Murphy, the daughter of Alderman Michael Murphy. The title ‘Lord Mayor’ was granted to Cork in Hegarty’s honour by a Charter, dated 9 July 1900, from Queen Victoria of England (1819-1901), Read more [...]