Navigate / search

University College Cork

UCC was established in 1845 as one of three Queen’s Colleges at Cork, Galway and Belfast.  The site chosen for the college is particularly appropriate given its connection with the patron saint of Cork, St Finbarr.  It is believed his monastery and school stood on the bank of the river Lee, which runs through the lower grounds of the university.  The University’s motto is ‘Where Finbarr Taught, let Munster Learn.’ On November 7th 1849, Queen’s College Cork Read more [...]

University College Cork-centenary 1908-2008

"Welcome to this on line exhibition to celebrate the centenary of the establishment of University College Cork (UCC). Queen's College, Cork, the immediate predecessor of University College, Cork opened its doors in 1849 to 117 students. The foundation of the Queen's University and its colleges at Belfast, Cork and Galway were historically, politically and socially significant. For the first time in over two hundred years education was being made available to a cross section of Irish society. Read more [...]

Professor John A Murphy

Congratulations to Professor John A Murphy on the publication of his excellent history of UCC “the College”.   Extract from the front inner leaf” The year 1995 has a personal significance for John A. Murphy, since it marks the fiftieth anniversary of his registration as a first year student in UCC. He joined the staff in 1960 and succeeded Seamus Pender as Professor of Irish History in 1971. He therefore brings to his work, not only his personal experience, but a valuable Read more [...]