Navigate / search

Professor John A Murphy

Congratulations to Professor John A Murphy on the publication of his excellent history of UCC “the College”.   Extract from the front inner leaf” The year 1995 has a personal significance for John A. Murphy, since it marks the fiftieth anniversary of his registration as a first year student in UCC. He joined the staff in 1960 and succeeded Seamus Pender as Professor of Irish History in 1971. He therefore brings to his work, not only his personal experience, but a valuable Read more [...]

An Scannalann- Cork Regional Film Archives

Cork Regional Digital Film Archive was set up in April of 2007 in order to promote the preservation of the moving image. The main function of our first project was to preserve films of the last 25 years of the Cork Youth Film Festival and to digitise them so that it would be available for the future. Since that beginning we have had numerous donations to the archive by way of old film clips etc In order to complete our work here we require a substantial amount of funding as the task is Read more [...]

Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)

 Society of Friends (Quakers)    Quakers meet together in silence believing that the Holy Spirit, however perceived, will lead us to worship.  Any person who feels moved to do so may speak at the meeting. We believe that God exists in everyone, so that anyone can experience divine love and guidance. Quakers have great diversity of belief, and while words can divide us, the shared experience of silent worship, seeking to practice Christ’s message of love Read more [...]

GAA 125

GAA 125 - The Seven Founders by John Arnold The meeting that led to the formation of the Gaelic Athletic Association was held in Miss Hayes' Commercial Hotel in Thurles on November 1st, 1884. We can be certain that at least seven people attended the Association's inauspicious beginning but there may have been more - there is no doubt however that Cusack, Davin, Wyse, Power, McKay, McCarthy and Ryan do deserve the title of the GAA's Founding Fathers and they deserve to be remembered and honoured Read more [...]

Cork City Goal

Brief History of Cork City Gaol: (Opened 1824, Closed 1923) The Cork City Gaol in Sunday's Well, was designed to replace the old Gaol at the Northgate Bridge in the heart of the city. The old gaol was nearly 100 yrs. old, on a confined site, overcrowded & unhygienic. In 1806 an Act of Parliament was passed and monies  levied locally to allow the building of a new City Gaol. The first site chosen was at Distillery Fields - an area prone to frequent flooding!! This fact Read more [...]